top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNimisha S

UGST 497: Reflection 5


My confidence has grown exponentially from developing this course! I feel more knowledgeable about my field and more prepared to be a health educator. I have also felt a lot of accomplishment from being able to see students' thoughts develop through the course. My professor and I just conducted a mid-semester evaluation and I was super proud to see the students challenging their pre-conceived notions and learning about new topics. I am a bit concerned about some students as I think I may have seen some disrespectful behavior during the gender/sexual identity panel. However, I will be more conscious of people's comfortability when teaching and am excited to see what's upcoming.


This project matters to me because I am passionate about increasing sexual health literacy among the population. My professor and I both agree that one of the best time to enact change in people's thoughts is to use the classroom. I am particularly more aware about disability justice and geriatrics now. I did not have much access to information about sexual health in these fields before, but I feel more prepared to educate others about these populations as well. I have thoroughly enjoyed using my knowledge to help others increase their empathy towards others. I hope that my students are learning a lot and will help enact positive change within the medical and health education fields. I don't think I would change anything about the process so far, but we will see if that changes when I begin teaching next week!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page