top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNimisha S

Sophomore Year: Review


Courses- Summer 2020:

  • PHYS 1401 (Dallas College)- College Physics I (Dr. Maria Hossu)

  • PHYS 1402 (Dallas College)- College Physics II (Dr. Maria Hossu)

Courses- Fall 2020:

  • BIOL 112- Introductory Biology II (Dr. Amanda Adams)

  • CHEM 227- Organic Chemistry I (Dr. Patricio Santander)

  • CHEM 237- Organic Chemistry Lab I (TA Demonta Coleman)

  • ENGL 210 (H)- Technical Business Writing (Dr. Matthew McKinney)

  • PHLT 303- Social Dynamics of Population Health (Dr. Robert Garcia)

  • UGST 211 (H)- UScholar Personal Statement (Dr. Jonathan Kotinek)

  • VTPP 285- Directed Studies (Dr. Michael Golding)

Courses- Spring 2021:

  • PHLT 304- Biological Basis of Public Health (Dr. Leslie Cizmas)

  • PHLT 305- Epidemiology in Public Health (Dr. Shaida Kalbasi)

  • PHLT 307- Public Health in the Global Context (Dr. Antonio Rene)

  • PHLT 485- Directed Studies- Racism and Public Health (UScholar Mustafa Ahmad)

  • POLS 307 (H)- State and Local Government (Dr. Jason Smith)

  • VTPP 485- Directed Studies (Dr. Michael Golding)

Courses- May-mester (Summer) 2021:

  • DCED 202- Dance Appreciation (Alexandra Pooley-Detweiler)


Organizations:

  • Aggie Icers Position: Banquet Chair Games Attended: 0 (COVID) Banquet: Hosted on April 1st, 2021

  • Feminists for Reproductive Equity and Education (FREE) Position: Steering Committee Meetings: 10 Events: 2

  • Texas A&M National Scholar Ambassadors (TANSA) Total Hours Served: 3


Opportunities for Next Year

  • Capstone: Teaching Scholars with Dr. Rhonda Rahn

  • Internship: Center for Pediatric Population Health, Dallas, TX Returning from last summer internship

  • Leadership: Aggie Icers President= Elected by organization members; FREE Steering Committee= Listed as President on StuAct, more active role next year

 

Who knew that a pandemic would hit and turn my topsy-turvy? Of course, there's no better time to switch majors from Genetics to Public Health. Working at the Center for Pediatric Population Health last summer was an eye-opening experience for me and I knew it was time to make a change. And boy am I happy I did that. I feel like I'm thriving in PHLT now and having fun in my courses. Hooray for positive change!


UScholars was something new this year and I am enjoying it! I'm glad I have a new cohort of such talented peers that inspire me to be my best and pursue change in my community. The fall course was a lifesaver, the way I'm using my personal statement now. :) The spring semester was eye opening. If FREE wasn't making me passionate about health equity, PHLT 485 definitely did.


Having leadership positions in different orgs on campus while dealing with a dangerous virus was definitely a challenge. It was difficult to balance having our Formal for Icers but keeping everyone safe. But in the end, everyone's safety was my priority, so I had to mandate masks at most times during the event, annoying a few people. But I didn't have an outbreak, so mission successful. FREE was definitely an interesting experience. I'm so glad I decided to step out of my comfort zone and pursue reproductive justice activism, I couldn't remain silent anymore. Next year's presidency in Icers and a bigger role in FREE should be fun.


I have so much on my plate this summer and next school year. I couldn't do the Germany Study Abroad, hopefully I can next year. I just finished my May-mester course so I should be ordering my Aggie Ring soon (knock on wood)!!! I'll be back at the Center this summer. Hopefully we can get a paper published from this summer. Last summer's MBS and smoking paper was published in the Journal of Addictive Diseases, which was super exciting. Next year, I'm planning on pursuing a Teaching Capstone for Honors requirements. I'm super excited to work with Dr. Rahn on re-designing the Human Sexuality course. I can't wait to get my hands dirty with the work and come up with a possibly-utilized course for TAMU. Also, I'll be back at the research lab next year. We're really diving deep into craniofacial measures, hopefully I can get an artifact like a paper or poster out of it.


COVID has provided me with great volunteer opportunities this past semester. I, of course, got vaccinated, but was able to get it early due to volunteering at the Brazos Hub. I volunteered at the Hub for 2 months trying to get community members vaccinated. I also volunteered at A&M on the vaccine and testing campaigns, encouraging students to practice proper public health. I'm looking to continue volunteering next year, hopefully at the SARC.


Overall, these experiences are helping mold me into an adult I am proud of. My courses continue exposing me to the principles and basic concepts of public health and then making me apply them to real-life situations, giving me a greater depth of knowledge. I'm even more excited to pursue my MPH and PhD in reproductive/sexual health with this knowledge base that I'm building. My research portfolio is growing quickly. I have a published paper, which is incredible, especially the first authorship! I also have a poster from Kara which is super cool. There are more papers I worked on last year, hopefully they get published as well. The research I continue to take part in should help develop me into a better researcher and writer and establish my credibility in the public health field. The leadership positions continue exercising my leadership skills and are especially expanding my interpersonal skills, which I am thankful for. These people skills will only serve me for the better when I need to project manage in public health.


All in all, next year is going to be busy as hell, but I'm pumped for it. :)

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page